Ekokymppin logo


Suomussalmen lajitteluasemalle ympärivuorokautinen risuvastaanotto Lue lisää
Äänestä parasta valokuvaa kalenterin kuvakilpailussa! Lue lisää
Puutarhajätteiden vastaanotto Lue lisää
Vuolijoki-Otanmäki: Syyskeräys kodin vaarallisille jätteille ja sähkölaitteille Lue lisää

In English

Municipal Waste Authority of Kainuu

Municipal Waste Authority of Kainuu (Ekokymppi) was established in 2001 and it co-operates with nine municipalities; Hyrynsalmi, Kajaani, Kuhmo, Paltamo, Puolanka, Ristijärvi, Sotkamo, Suomussalmi and Vaala. Ekokymppi is responsible for the management of waste in its operating area. 

Ekokymppi takes care of reception, recycling, treatment and final disposal of waste and consultation / information on the waste matters in the province of Kainuu. Ekokymppi has organised wide and environmentally friendly waste receiving services for its inhabitants.

Domestic waste is collected mainly by the waste transport companies in the residential areas. Some 134 Local Waste Collection Points are situated in the areas of scattered settlement for summer residents and homes that have not a deal with the waste transport companies. Each one of the nine communities has a Sorting Station for dangerous wastes and  for small quantities of sorted recyclable materials. Waste Treatment Centre Majasaari is situated in Kajaani.  

Approximately 30 Ecopoints for recyclable materials like paper, cardboard, glass and metal packaging are located in the province of Kainuu (RINKI Oy takes care of them).

Contact us:
Kainuun jätehuollon kuntayhtymä Ekokymppi
Viestitie 2
87700 Kajaani
tell. 08 636611 Monday – Friday 9.00 am to 3.00 pm

Back to main page